Me & Goji cereal – Review and Giveaway!

March 10, 2011

image Me & Goji is a custom cereal making company.  Does that sound weird to you?  It did to me at first – but then I thought about all the great benefits of customizing your own cereal!  It’s everything you’re going to love in your very own cereal – and all healthy ingredients!     
  
mommy-munchiesThe thing I immediately fell in love with on their website is that they have suggestions for cereals that work (under ‘our recipes’) – and why.  I’m a nursing mom – so my eyes went straight for that nursing mom’s cereal. In the explanation of the cereal it states this:
“Many nursing moms are extremely hungry and crave something sweet. Our cereal creation provides complex carbs, fiber and protein to fill up the new mom. It also helps kick that sweet tooth while providing the nutrients she (and her baby) needs most.”
How true is that?!  I notice that I’m constantly hungry and craving sweets. I rarely crave sweets when not nursing, but something about these hormones of mine – really gets my sweet tooth goin’. So this is where I started. 
Then I customized it to my liking: I’m much more of a ‘flakes’ kind of person than a ‘hoops’ kind of person. So I selected the artisanal cereal as my main ingredient and the multigrain O’s as my secondary. 
smallgojio   smallartisinal
Each ingredient you select shows what its great properties are; whether that be high in fiber, antioxidant power, etc..
I’m not a huge fan of cranberries but I wanted to try and stay close to some of the properties of my original ‘nursing formula’ because I wanted it to satisfy my sweet tooth and fill me up.  So I looked for high fiber and protein, but sweet ingredients. I picked raspberries and bananas. Then I realized I had three fruits, so I eliminated the Golden Berries.  See how my cereal starts becoming MY cereal?
smallraspberries  smallbananas
I did keep the flax and pecan’s, because I figure i’ll hardly notice them and they’re good for higher fiber and protein counts, which is great! 
  smallbrownflaxseed     smallpecan 
The last thing I did – was add a touch of chocolate.  I had seen on an earlier screen that they had cocoa dusted almonds.  Yum!!! Added those in for a bonus treat to look forward to every morning.
smallcocoaalmond
I love that you can see as your building your cereal all the nutritional values it will have.  My cereal contains 171.9 Calories per serving; 6g fat; 5.8g Dietary Fiber; and 4.2g Protein.

ourcerealcapsulesWhen you’re ready to check out you get to name your cereal – I named it A & E Delight, (For Andrew and Ethan Delight!)  You also have the option to upload a picture to the cereal box for an extra $2.99.  This would be great as a gift to someone, or if you plan on using the tube longer and want a picture on it!
I could really go on and on and on about the endless options that Me & Goji Cereal creations has – and all the varieties that I would choose and why; but really – you’re just going to have to check it out for yourselves!

How did my cereal taste??? MmmmMmmMmm!! It was sooo good! I love the raspberries and the banana’s mixed together. Of course when I opened the box for the first time it was right in the middle of my move; and so I was sitting in the passenger seat of our car driving a load of boxes to the new house – so I started munching. Man it was so delicious! Even Joe loved it. I had to cut him (ok, us..) off or I’d never see the cereal in a bowl with milk.  February 2011 111 I do have to say though, that I *LOVED* the Cocoa Almonds – but I loved them best plain vs. mixed in. The cereal mixture just didn’t do the cocoa’ almonds justice. So each day as an almond landed in my bowl; I picked it out and ate it for a delicious pre-breakfast treat. 😉
The cereal I made here would cost $13.50 to make.  Considering that a capsule of cereal gives you twice as many servings as a box of cereal – and you’re getting all-natural, hand-mixed cereal with your very own creation involved, that’s a great deal!
Well, I think y’all get my excitement about Me & Goji Cereals! Now. One very lucky reader is going to get hooked onto their very own creation of cereal, because Me & Goji is offering one of my readers the chance to…

WIN IT!!!!
One Lucky Reader will win a capsule of custom cereal creation from Me & Goji!
This first entry is MANDATORY.  Go to the Me & Goji website, and look through the ‘our recipes’ section. Tell me what you would start with and why.  If you would start from scratch, tell me some ingredients you would choose and why.
Optional Extra Entries: (only after mandatory entry is done!)
  • Like Me & Goji on Facebook!  please include your facebook name
  • Comment on the Me & Goji Facebook page saying you entered their giveaway at www.grinningcheektocheek.com.
  • Sign up for Me & Goji’s Newsletter.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email (upper left email insertion box)
  • Follow my blog publicly via GFC (right side center)
  • Post my Button on your blog. (please leave a link!)
  • Follow GrinCheek2Cheek on Twitter on twitter and tweet about this giveaway:  (this may be done daily)
    #Win a Capsule of Custom made #Cereal from @MeandGoji @GrinCheek2Cheek #Giveaway Ends 3/31 http://tiny.ly/BXoA
  • Like GrinningCheektoCheek on Facebook! please include your facebook name with your entry.
  • Follow my blog via Networked Blogs (click on right)
  • Vote for me on picket fence blogs. One Entry per vote(per day).
  • Enter any of my other Current giveaways. 1 extra entry per CURRENT contest entered.

Open  to U.S. only.  Giveaway ends March 31st, 2011 at 11:59pm. Winner  will be drawn by random.org the following day, and will be e-mailed. Winner will have 48 hours to respond or a new  winner will be drawn.  Winners will be announced on this blog after all have responded.  I received a product for review purposes. However, all of my opinions are 100% my own and are no way influenced by compensation received.

Comments

  1. Twingle Mommy says:

    I would start with Adam's apple. Apples and cinnamon, where could I go wrong with that combination?

  2. Twingle Mommy says:

    I'm a follower through GFC

  3. I would start with San Marino Sunrise. I love pumpkin seeds!
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  4. I like me and Goji on Facebook: Heather Schonrock Lyons
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  5. Posted the comment on me & Goji Facebook wall: Heather Schonrock Lyons
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  6. me & Goji email subscriber.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  7. email subscriber.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  8. Public GFC follower.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  9. Voted for you 3/12/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  10. I like you on Facebook: Heather Schonrock Lyons
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  11. Entered Smarcks giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  12. Entered Bridgewater giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  13. Entered Fogless Mirror giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  14. Entered Mommy's Medicine Cabinet giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  15. Entered Tagsmania giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  16. Entered Veggie Tales giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  17. Voted for you 3/13/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  18. I'd start with the expectant mom mix minus the walnuts.
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  19. email subscriber
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  20. gfc follower
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  21. picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  22. meredith m says:

    i would start with the swedish moosley
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  23. meredith m says:

    i Like Me & Goji on Facebook! (meredith montgomery)
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  24. meredith m says:

    i Commented on the Me & Goji Facebook page about this giveaway
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  25. meredith m says:

    gfc follower
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  26. meredith m says:
  27. meredith m says:

    i like you on fb (meredith montgomery)
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  28. meredith m says:

    voted on pfb 3/13
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  29. meredith m says:

    i entered the Mommy’s Medicine Cabinet giveaway
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  30. Rachel C says:

    picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  31. Voted for you on 3/14/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  32. meredith m says:
  33. I would start with golden granola because I like all the ingredients in it.

  34. I would start with cereally protein because I am always looking for more ways to add protein to my diet. calvad at aol dot com

  35. Voted for you 3/15/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  36. Rachel C says:

    picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  37. ktgonyea says:

    San Marino Sunrise would be my first choice 🙂

    ktgonyea at gmail.com

  38. ktgonyea says:

    GFC Subscriber – ktgonyea at gmail.com

  39. meredith m says:
  40. Voted for you 3/16/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  41. meredith m says:
  42. picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  43. Rachel C says:

    picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  44. Voted for you 3/17/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  45. meredith m says:
  46. Voted for you on 3/18/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  47. Rachel C says:

    picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  48. meredith m says:
  49. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/18
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  50. meredith m says:

    i entered the bridgewater candle co giveaway
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  51. Voted for you 3/19/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  52. meredith m says:
  53. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/19
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  54. Rachel C says:

    picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  55. meredith m says:
  56. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/20
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  57. cereally INVIGORATING – because I love apples & bananas!

    nov231973 at gmail dot com

  58. Voted for you on 3/20/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  59. picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  60. Voted for you on 3/21/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  61. I would choose the swedish moosley because it sounds delish!
    husskl at comcast dot net

  62. Entered Popcorn Factory giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  63. meredith m says:
  64. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/21
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  65. picket fence vote
    rach62803 at yahoo dot com

  66. sksweeps says:

    I'd start with the cereally INVIGORATING because I really need a boost!

    sksweeps (at) earthlink (dot) net

  67. sksweeps says:

    I'm a GFC follower

    sksweeps (at) earthlink (dot) net

  68. Voted for you on Picket Fence 3/22/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  69. Entered Kidorable giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  70. meredith m says:
  71. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/22
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  72. Voted for you 3/23/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  73. meredith m says:
  74. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/23
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  75. Voted for you on 3/24/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  76. meredith m says:
  77. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/24
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  78. sunnymum says:

    I'd start with the swedish moosely because I love chocolate mixed with dried fruits and also add in some cashews for some more crunch with the brazil nuts.
    cbeargie at yahoo dot com

  79. sunnymum says:

    Following on GFC as sunnymum.
    cbeargie at yahoo dot com

  80. sunnymum says:

    Voted for you today on Picket Fences. Says you have 744 votes.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  81. sunnymum says:

    I also entered the Bounce Back Fast – Post Natal Core Conditioning DVD giveaway.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  82. sunnymum says:

    I also entered the Exercise After Pregnancy Book Giveaway.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  83. sunnymum says:

    I also entered the Executive Gift Shoppe GC Giveaway.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  84. sunnymum says:

    I also entered the Popcorn Factory giveaway.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  85. sunnymum says:

    I also entered the Warmlys giveaway.
    cbeargie at yahoo.com

  86. Voted for you on 3/25/11
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  87. meredith m says:
  88. meredith m says:

    i voted for you on picket fence 3/25
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  89. I like the cereally INVIGORATING. It looks good in terms of energy and it's gluten free!

  90. I subscribe via email.

  91. I subscribe via GFC.

  92. I follow you on Twitter (@ms_fleur).

  93. I voted for you on PFB 3/25.

  94. I'm entered in the Cisco Valet giveaway.

  95. I'm entered in the Popcorn Factory giveaway.

  96. meredith m says:
  97. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/26
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  98. momznite says:

    The San Marino Sunrise Mix sounds good to me because I like granola and dried fruit. If I made my own, I'd start with Golden Granola base.
    momznite_at_yahoo_daught_com

  99. momznite says:

    Entered the Barber Foods giveaway.
    momznite_at_yahoo_daught_com

  100. momznite says:

    Entered the Popcorn Factory giveaway.
    momznite_at_yahoo_daught_com

  101. momznite says:

    Entered the Executive Gift Shoppe giveaway.
    momznite_at_yahoo_daught_com

  102. momznite says:

    Entered the Warmlys giveaway.
    momznite_at_yahoo_daught_com

  103. meredith m says:
  104. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/27
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  105. meredith m says:

    i entered the popcorn factory giveaway
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  106. meredith m says:

    i entered the cisco giveaway
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  107. Voted for you today
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  108. I entered Barber Foods giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  109. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    I would start with the san marino sunrise!!! I love the variety of fruits in it!

  110. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    i subscribe

  111. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    I follow

  112. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    voted on picket fence

  113. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    i liked them on facebook

  114. nanasmama08@yahoo.com says:

    I left a comment on their facebook page

  115. Voted for you today
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  116. meredith m says:
  117. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/28
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  118. Voted for you today.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  119. rsbryswrrl says:

    I'd start with the Expectant Mom Mix, even though I just had a baby. I am nursing, so it would help still.

    rsbryswrrl at gmail dot com

  120. meredith m says:
  121. meredith m says:

    i voted on 3/29
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  122. Voted for you today.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  123. Entered ClckR giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  124. Entered Timmy Time giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  125. meredith m says:
  126. meredith m says:

    i voted on 3/30
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  127. EmmaPeel says:

    the swedish moosley because it has the things I like in it

  128. EmmaPeel says:

    I voted on picket fence just now!

  129. Voted for you today.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  130. Entered Tangled giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  131. Entered Thomas giveaway.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  132. meredith m says:
  133. meredith m says:

    i voted on picket fence 3/31
    mermont84@yahoo.com

  134. Anonymous says:

    I would try Adam's Apple; I like the combination of items.

    theyyyguy@yahoo.com

  135. I'd pick the Whoa Protein mix. I like it because it packs 8 grams of straight-from-nature (not scientists) protein and 5 grams of fiber with only 4 grams of sugar.

    runningmatey at hotmail dot com

  136. Cinnamon Granola, Cherries, Apples, Pears, Cranberries, Natural Almonds and Organic Corn Flakes.

  137. I'm a GFC follower.

  138. I'm an email subscriber.

  139. I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

Speak Your Mind

*